I Found 64 Cents – Lucky or What?

Luck in the Art World

My wife and I went downtown for lunch today.  As we were walking to our restaurant, I found 64 cents in a parking lot. I have a habit of looking down when I’m walking; otherwise, I would not have spotted the loose change on the pavement. Lucky or what? Or just in the right place at the right time? Perhaps a little of both.

Isn’t that how it is in the art world?  We are fortunate when we sell a painting, but also a little lucky.  The same goes for being accepted into an art show.  There is so much competition for such little exhibition space that we are lucky when chosen.  At the same time, it has a lot to do with being in the right place at the right time and getting work before the public.  I do what I can.  I have a blog, Studio Scoop (you’re reading it right now). I publish a newsletter Studio NewsPlease subscribe at http://bit.ly/2gbnzEh if you haven’t already done so.  Go to the upper left corner of the latest issue and click on Subscribe

I have a simple Mission:

  • Paint excellent paintings
  • Tell people about them
  • Make enough money to eat, drink wine, have a warm home, and not go naked

I never leave home without my business cards.  Friday evening during Gallery Stroll, I handed one out at a gallery and before I knew it a Gallerist approached me and wanted a card.  She said “we’re going to have fun.”  I don’t know exactly what that means but it got me an invitation to submit to their holiday show.  Lucky, doing the right thing, or in the right place at the right time?  Maybe, all three.

 

 

 

Author: Jerry Hardesty Studio

I am an Abstract Expressionist Painter, living in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Leave a Reply

