“Untitled Paintings” – That’s Cheating

A title is part of the story

When I view a painting that’s “Untitled” I feel cheated.  How about you?  Is this a lazy artist?  By giving a work a title, does the artist feel he or she is leading the viewer?  Again, what do you think?

For me, a title is part of the story of a piece of artwork.  And each piece should develop from a a story.  As an artist, what are you thinking while creating?  Can you develop a title from your thoughts?

Giving a piece is definitely a challenge.  I have developed some techniques I employ however.

  1. I keep a list of potential titles
  2. I keep a list of words I like
  3. I translate words/potential titles into a foreign language (I use Google Translator), e.g. “Shiro” is Japanese for white
  4. I employ ambiguous titles as I too do not want to lead the viewer, “Sorpresa” is Spanish for surprise
  5. I like titles from one word to many , “The Devil’s in the Details Playing Tenor Sax”

shiro

“Shiro”

sorpresa

“Sorpresa”

the-devils-in-the-details-playing-tenor-sax

“The Devil’s in the Details Playing Tenor Sax”

Seriously consider a title rather than “untitled.”  It might help with sales.

 

Author: Jerry Hardesty Studio

I am an Abstract Expressionist Painter, living in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Leave a Reply

