Creative Blast #2

Be Creative!

Happy New Year!  Did you celebrate?  If so, did you celebrate too much? I cannot even stay up past midnight…  I hate to admit that it’s an age thing.  No, wait!  Getting up at 5:00 a.m. has to be a factor.  All that aside, let’s move on to creativity.

You got your mojo on?  In other words, have you exercised and had that warm shower that I wrote about in Creative Blast #1?  If so, you’re ready to meditate and be creative.  Where can you find a nice, stimulating place in which to have that “eureka” moment you’re seeking?

I’m going in here.  It’s warm.  There are others here doing the same thing I intend to do.  Therefore, it’s stimulating.  Besides, I could use another cup of coffee.  Now, do you know where I’m going?  Starbucks, of course… maybe you would prefer a local coffee bar/shop. Not all are stimulating… depends on the environment… the noise level.  It also depends on customer service.

I’ve been here so often that some of the Baristas know me by name.  I call that good customer service. After getting my order, I find a table, munch on my pastry and sip my wonderful latte.  I want it to last as long as possible.  Many of the patrons are on their laptops.  I prefer to take a sketchbook.  Not only can I sketch, but also use it as a journal and write.  I compose outlines for some of my best posts in Starbucks.

Back to the environment.  It can be frustrating if you cannot find a table.  When in Rome, Italy, I ventured into a coffee bar expecting the same service as at home.  I ordered my usual latte which came as steamed milk.  The Barista happily replaced it.  A group of middle-age men were standing around quickly indulging their caffeine addictions. For me, it was not very pleasurable.

Back to Starbucks, many tables are taken with just one patron when it could seat four. Most of the time, it’s not a problem.  I believe most patrons find it inviting and stimulating.

img_1244

Today,  a couple of guys bond over a game of chess.

Every Thursday at the same table, a group of six guys gather and try to top each other’s stories.  It’s refreshing to hear them raucously laugh and get excited. At times, I feel a bit envious that I’m not part of that group.  In a corner, a homeless guy naps as the warmth of the shop envelops him. Then there’s the young father and son spending quality time together. At times, I’m that father with my youngest son; although he’s now an adult.  Additionally, there’s the occasional, informal business meeting.  All these disparate personalities contribute to the Starbucks brand.

Starbucks not only sells tasty pastries and coffee, but also pop culture at its best.  It’s coffee time!  It’s creative time! I challenge you to make creativity part of your day. It’s a Blast!

Author: Jerry Hardesty Studio

I am an Abstract Expressionist Painter, living in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Leave a Reply

