Painting a Super-Series

The Quiddity Series of 5 grew to four series, hence a Super-Series

quiddityQuiddity, Acrylic & Resin, 24×24.  A series of five paintings started with this painting, Quiddity.  By the way, “Quiddity” means “the quality that makes a thing what it is; the essential nature of a thing.”

To call a group of paintings a series, it should have from three to five paintings in the group.  The Quiddity series actually has five paintings.  I did not, however, stop with just this one series; I created three more… you might call the four series together a super series.

I created the second series as a daily painting campaign to attract email followers, “75 Paintings in 75 Days.”  The series became the “MiniQuids”(a word I coined).  I enjoyed it so much that I continued painting past the original 75.  I believe I stopped at 94.  I was very fortunate to have sold over forty.  Pictured here are a few of those still available:

  

MiniQuids 58, 94, and 8, Acrylic on 8×8 Canvas

Next came the daily painting series, “29 Paintings in 29 Days.”  This one became the “Kwid” series (another word I coined).  The paintings in the series are again acrylic and are 10x10x1.5.  Several are still available:

 

Kwids 23 & 27

Finally, the MaxiQuids have been painted at random.  There are only four in the series.  They are 12×12’s on canvas.

MaxiQuid 4

I enjoy challenging myself with new and ever-changing goals.  Challenges are invigorating and inspiring.  Now, I am doing “60 Paintings in 60 Days,” all on paper.  You can view the MiniQuids, Kwids, and MaxiQuids on my website under Artwork, go to http://jerryhardestystudio.com. To view the paintings on paper, please subscribe to my newsletter, also through my website under “Studio News.”

Author: Jerry Hardesty Studio

I am an Abstract Expressionist Painter, living in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Leave a Reply

