7 Tips for Branding Your Art Business

There are many meanings to the word “brand” and the act of “branding.” In the Wild West and yet today, ranchers and farmers used a hot iron to brand their livestock. According to Wikipedia, “Many western US states have strict laws regarding brands, including brand registration [a brand being unique to only one entity]…” Animal rights groups probably tag this practice as barbaric but that’s another story.

In today’s business world, the term “brand” is ubiquitous. It can refer to a large corporation or a one-man operation. According to the Urban Dictionary, “Brand is the “name, term, design, symbol, or any other feature that identifies one seller’s good[s] or service as distinct from those of other sellers.”

What does this mean for artists? How do you want your art to be recognized? What’s in a name or brand?

As an artist, myself, I labored over establishing a brand. I kept thinking I’ve got to have a brand, I’ve got to have a brand. It drove me crazy. Initially, I had the misconception that a brand was simply a logo. Well, true, that’s part of an artist’s brand, but not all inclusive. Ironically, I finally realized I have a brand. It is my name, Jerry Hardesty. I added “Studio” to indicate my studio practice.

7 Tips for an Art Brand:

  1. Use your name – it humanizes your art business. Potential collectors can put a face with the artwork.
  2. Do not use an alias – using an alias can be confusing for you as an artist and for your collectors. You would always have the dilemma of using your given name or your alias.
  3. Avoid cutesy brands – imagine using “Splashes” as a brand. When I encounter such a cutesy brand, I move on.
  4. Use your name, add “Studio” (like I did) or “Art” or “Fine Art” – I use Jerry Hardesty Studio.
  5. Create a unique logo using your name – if you’re not a graphic artist and are challenged with creating a logo, hire a professional. That’s what I did. Actually, I traded a painting with him for his service.
  6. Use your name for your email, website, blog, newsletter. My email is jerry@jerryhardestystudio.com, my website is jerryhardestystudio.com, my blog deviates a little and is Studio Scoop at http://jerrysstudioscoop.com and my newsletter, Studio News.
  7. Use your name

Take note, when using your name for your brand, you must practice honesty and integrity in all business dealings.  A tarnished reputation could harm your business.  Furthermore, why not apply these tips to other business brands?  Who knows, personalizing and humanizing your brand whether for your art business or otherwise might help sales.

Author: Jerry Hardesty Studio

I am an Abstract Expressionist Painter, living in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Leave a Reply

