60 Paintings in 60 Days – Studies on Paper

I recently finished my latest campaign, “60 Paintings in 60 Days.”  All were acrylic studies on paper of varied sizes – when I say different sizes, I started small, postcard size.  I painted ten in each size, 4×6, 5×7, 6×8, 8×10, 9×12, and 11×14.  Since I believe that original art should be affordable to everyone, I kept costs low by doing them on paper, and I offering them for sale starting at $1 on Day 1 and on up to $60 on Day 60.  They were not as popular as previous campaigns.  They were unframed which may be a reason many of them aren’t hanging on a collector’s wall.  Don’t get me wrong, I did sell a few.

When I paint a series for a campaign, titles become tedious.  Therefore, I assigned a number for each study based on the day it was painted and released. Numbering paintings goes against my normal policy of giving each a title, and I certainly didn’t want to call each “untitled.”  I prefer ambiguous titles as I want viewers to have their own experiences with my work.

I experimented… I like to do that.  As a result, I learned about “me.”  I found that my best work developed as I flip-flopped back to my non-objective-colorful-expresssive-abstract style with various textures.  Oops, I lied when I said they were all acrylic studies.  I did some in pastels… just enough to know that I am most comfortable with acrylics.


A Gallery of one of each size:

 

Author: Jerry Hardesty Studio

I am an Abstract Expressionist Painter, living in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Leave a Reply

